Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Upcoming Summer Reads in Women’s Fiction and Book Giveaway

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker Release date June 26

What’s It About?
On a seemingly ordinary Saturday in a California suburb, Julia and her family awake to discover, along with the rest of the world, that the rotation of the earth has suddenly begun to slow. The days and nights grow longer and longer, gravity is affected, the environment is thrown into disarray. Yet as she struggles to navigate an ever-shifting landscape, Julia is also coping with the normal disasters of everyday life—the fissures in her parents’ marriage, the loss of old friends, the hopeful anguish of first love, the bizarre behavior of her grandfather who, convinced of a government conspiracy, spends his days obsessively cataloging his possessions.

In short: Doomsday is near as the Earth’s rotation slows but young girl still has to deal with her parents’ divorce, first love, the loss of old friends and a crazy grandpa.

Why you should read it:  Touted as the new Lovely Bones, the novel got a starred Kirkus and PW as well as praise from Curtis Sittenfeld and Amy Bloom.
Link to excerpt

Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon Release date May 29

What’s it About?
“Alice Buckle, a 44-year-old from Massachusetts, has been living in the San Francisco Bay Area for years when she realizes she and her husband have drifted apart while advancing their careers (mostly him) and raising their children (mostly her). Dissatisfied, Alice agrees to participate in a marriage study and, as “Wife 22,” is paired with “Researcher 101.” After weeks of anonymously sharing increasingly intimate details about her marriage, Alice begins to feel that Researcher 101 understands her better than her own husband does.”  (From Library Journal)
In short: Bored wife falls for a researcher in a marriage study.
Why you should read it. The voice is so distinct and funny it’s being compared to Alison Pearson’s  I Don’t Know How She Does It and Bridget Jones’ Diary. Also has starred PW and Library Journal review and blurbs from heavy hitters like Elizabeth Berg and Mary Kay Andrews.

 Link to excerpt

Meryl Streep Movie Club by Mia March, Release date June 19

What’s It About: Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch's inn on the coast of Maine for a shocking announcement. Suddenly, Isabel, June, and Kat are sharing the attic bedroom--and barely speaking. But when innkeeper Lolly asks them to join her and the guests in the parlor for weekly Movie Night--it's Meryl Streep month--they find themselves sharing secrets, talking long into the night--and questioning everything they thought they knew about life, love, and one another.
In short: Women learn life lessons while watching Meryl Streep movies.

Why You Should Read It:  In the tradition of Friday Night Knitting Club and Jane Austen Book Club.  Not to mention a very cute and relatable concept.
Link to excerpt

More Summer Reads

Great-Aunt Sophia’s Lessons for Bombshells by Lisa Cash—Fiesty 85-year-old transforms dumpy feminist niece into femme fatale. June 19.

Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriaty— Female hypnotherapist falls in love with a client who’s being stalked and discovers the stalker is also a client.  June 14.

Wallflower in Bloom by Claire Cook—Introverted sister tries to find her identity after being overshadowed by her famous rock star brother.  June 5.

Book Giveaway

Speaking of great summer reads, leave an email address in the comments for a chance to win SPIN by Catherine McKenzie.  It's about a girl who is offered a job at a Rolling Stones-type mag with one caveat: She has to check into rehab and get the skinny on the latest celebrity It Girl.

Winner will be announced after nine on Thursday.



  1. I basically want every book listed here. This week of book round-ups is going to bankrupt me!!

  2. Such a great selection of books! I've had my eye on them all!

    alibraryofourown at gmail dot com

  3. These all sound interesting. The premise of Great Aunt Sophia's Lessons for Bombshells made me chuckle. :)

  4. Wow, wonderful surprise to see The Meryl Streep Movie Club here as Summer Read--thank you!

    I have all these books on my must-read list and always look forward to a new Claire Cook novel every summer.

    Thanks again!

  5. A few selections I haven't thought of. Thank you.

  6. A fabulous collection. I am new to the "Meryl Streep Movie Club". Now on my wish list.